In March, South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard (R) signed H.B. 1212 into law, prohibiting government entities from requiring contractors to sign a project labor agreement (PLA), or any other agreement with labor unions, as a condition of performing work on taxpayer-funded construction projects in the state. One month later, Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant (R) signed S.B. 2797, which requires action by the legislature before a state or other public entity can require a contractor to enter into a PLA as a condition of performing work on a public project. South Dakota and Mississippi are the 16th and 17th states to prohibit PLA mandates since President Obama issued Executive Order 13502 in February 2009, bringing the total number of states with such bans to 21.